There are several tales of how Little Silver received its name. In one, brothers Joseph and Peter Parker, who settled in this area in 1667 and owned land bounded by Parker's Creek on the south and Little Silver Creek on the north, named their holdings "Little Silver" after their father's (George Parker) estate in Portsmouth, Rhode Island. The original Parker Homestead, dating to 1725 and one of the state's oldest, was acquired by the borough and is undergoing renovation.
Other explanations for the derivation of the name are the payment to Native Americans for the purchase of the land and the placid appearance of the water.
The borough's earliest European residents were primarily farmers, fishermen, and merchants.
Early families and businesses include:
Parkers – Joseph and Peter Parker originally settled the area, and their original homestead at 235 Rumson Road has been declared a state historic site.
Sickles – Harold and Elsie Sickles acquired land and opened a wholesale truck farm in 1908. The land was acquired from Harold's mother who was related to the Parkers. Transitioning from seasonal to year-round in 1998, Sickles Market is today a successful specialty garden and food market.
Little Silver Bottle Shop – Established in 1944, the iconic wine & spirits shop is the oldest continually running retail business in the borough.
The borough has had a varied history as a resort, agricultural area and fishing town. Today, the municipality is primarily residential with a range of housing types, from ranches and capes.
Little Silver also has a train right in town that goes to New York City and is located right next to Red Bank which comes with lot s of nightlife, festivals, restaurants and is still just a quick 10 minute trip to the beach.
Broker Associate #1007808
Office: 732-229-3532 | Cell: 201-951-7036
The English Properties Team - O'Brien Realty
76 First Avenue, Atlantic Highlands, NJ 07716